Home Funtastic On this day the first Lok Sabha was established in the country, the land reform bill passed for the first time.

On this day the first Lok Sabha was established in the country, the land reform bill passed for the first time.

by the owl speaks

On 15th August 1947, India became independent of British slavery. The Constituent Assembly and the Provisional Government went on to rule the country after this. Therefore, the first General Election was held from 25 October 1951 until 21 February 1952. There were 17 crore people in the country’s population of around 36 crores at the time. In addition to the Indian National Congress (INC), the Bharatiya Jana Sangh of Shyama Prasad Mukherjee, the Republican Party of Bhimrao Ambedkar, Ram Manohar Lohia, and the Samajwadi Party of Jayaprakash Narayan and the Communist Party of India have participated in the elections.

Then, there were 489 seats in Lok Sabha, 545 now. For these, elections are held on 543 seats, while Anglo Indian MPs are elected for two seats. Congress gained a majority in the first general election, by gaining 364 seats. Following this, on 3 April 1952, the first Rajya Sabha was established. Then the first Lok Sabha (Lok Sabha) was formed on this day i.e. 17 April 1952.

Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha first session were held on May 13. Both houses’ proceedings began at 10:45 am. Once he began administering the oath to the MPs, Speaker Mavalankar said that I would correctly name all of the members as far as possible. If there is some error then please forgive me. Also among those who took the oath on the first day as Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru who was then.

All the MPs did not render the oath on the first day. First Lok Sabha in the country has completed its five-year term. On 4 April 1957, this Lok Sabha was abolished. Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar was made the country’s first Lok Sabha speaker. Under his leadership, full legislative hearings have been taken. He filled this post until February 27, 1956. Supporting him MA Ayyangar was made the Lok Sabha speaker. Before Mavalankar died he was the Deputy Speaker.

The first Lok Sabha had a total of 677 meetings. Parliament’s hearings lasted about 3,784 hours during this time span. Parliament’s first legislation was land reform legislation. There were 333 Bills passed during the Lok Sabha’s five-year term, including six amendments to the Constitution. Women in Parliament were in the minority. Across both houses of Parliament there were a total of 20 female members.

The first parliament had few well-known female Members titles, such as Rajkumari Amrit Kaur, Sucheta Kripalani, Uma Nehru, Ammu Swaminathan, and G.K. Bai Durga. The highest number of female MPs from Madras (now Chennai) was four. While congratulating GV Mavalankar as the Speaker, MP Kumari Annie Mascarene said, “I hope that you can give us complete protection and full opportunity to talk on behalf of the very few women present here.”

333 Parliament adopted the bills required for a new democracy. This included bank, money, insurance, trade, business, defence, education, revenue, finance, health, law and many other fields. During the first Parliament, a good number of MPs were students. Approximately 75 MPs were law students or post students. Around 35 MP’s were arts or science postgraduates.

There were more than 15 MPs who earned diplomas from abroad. Of others, BR Ambedkar gave degrees in law from New York City to Columbia University and London School of Economics, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Harrow School of Trinity College in Cambridge, Major General Himmat Singhji Malvan College of Oxford University, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Middle Temple of England, Hridaynath Kunjaru, London School of Economics and the HG Mudgal.

20 per cent of MPs in the first parliament were 56 years of age or older. Around the same time, there was no MP in the first Parliament above the age of 70. Apart from this, 26 per cent of MPs were 40 or fewer years old. In addition to Congress, Bharatiya Jana Sangh has 3 elections for the first Lok Sabha, 16 for the Communist Party of India, 1 for the Forward Bloc (MG), 4 for All India Hindu Mahasabha, 1 for the Krishakir Lok Party, 9 for the Kisan Mazdoor Praja Party, Ram 3 for the State Council, 3 for the Revolutionary Socialist Party, 2 for the Schedule Cast Convention, 12 for the Socialist Party, and 34 for the other.

The largest number of 37 Independent MPs had entered the Lok Sabha after Congress. Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, the country’s first vice president, chaired the Council of States. Radhakrishnan made the Hindi naming of the upper house to the Rajya Sabha on 23 August 1954. The 238 members are elected while the President nominates 12 members. At that time, the Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha was SV Krishnamurthy Rao.

You may also like

Leave a Comment