Home Latest The 2020-21 season of Premier League will commence on 12 September

The 2020-21 season of Premier League will commence on 12 September

by the owl speaks

The season for the English Premier League 2020-21 is scheduled for September 12, with the final round of matches on May 23, which will be announced on Friday.

Last year, after the Premier League postponed the 2019-20 season for three month due to COVID-19, the new season was initially scheduled to start on 8 August. The pandemic is expected to begin this year.

This year’s season ends with a final round of events on Sunday, with teams preparing for the next campaign for around seven weeks.

However, if they move deeper into knockout phases and finish the final two competitions on August 23 and 21, they will also have less time to prepare for the two champions in the Champions League and the Europa League.

After the international break with UEFA, the new season begins with the announcement last month that the games of the Nation League will take place from 3 to 8 September.

Europe’s leaders are going to end their seasons next May by postponing the 2020 euro on 11 June 2021.

The Premier League has added that it would continue to negotiate the scheduling of domestic matches with the Football Association (FA) and the English Football League (EFL).

Later on Friday, the EFL has announced that the 2nd Level Championship, 3rd League 1 and 4th League 2 seasons will all commence on the weekend of 12 September and close on 8 and 9 May 2021, respectively.

Next season the playoff finals will take place on the last weekend of May.

The regular season of the Championship concluded with the playoff final on August 4 on Wednesday.

League 1 clubs agreed to end this year early on and conducted playoffs behind closed doors, determining the final table points for a season.

Along with Playoff champion Wycombe Wanderers Champions Coventry City and Rotherham United were automatically promoted.

In League Two, the playoffs won by Northampton Town and Champions Swindon Town as well as Crewe Alexandra and Plymouth Argyle were likewise accomplished.

You may also like

Leave a Comment